Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Holiday Schedule

Holidays to be Observed in 2015

(See 2016 holidays)

Holiday Date Day of the Week
New Year's Day Jan. 1 Thursday
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Jan. 19 Monday
National Foundation Day Feb. 11 Wednesday
Washington’s Birthday Feb. 16 Monday
Golden Week Holidays May 4-6 Monday-Wednesday
Memorial Day May 25 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Saturday (Observed on Friday, July 3)
Marine Day July 20 Monday
Labor Day Sept. 7 Monday
Respect for the Aged Day Sept. 21 Monday
Declared Official Holiday Sept. 22 Tuesday
Autumn Equinox Day Sept. 23 Wednesday
Columbus Day/Sports Day Oct. 12 Monday
Veterans Day Nov. 11 Wednesday
Labor Thanksgiving Day Nov. 23 Monday
Thanksgiving Day Nov. 26 Thursday
Emperor’s Birthday Dec. 23 Wednesday
Christmas Day Dec. 25 Friday

In accordance with the Foreign Affairs Manual (2 FAM 115.2 d), the number of local holidays should be limited to 10. As a result, the following Japanese holidays will not be celebrated by Mission employees in 2015.

Holiday Date Day of the Week
Adult's Day Jan. 12 Monday
Golden Week Holiday April 29 Wednesday
Culture Day Nov. 3 Tuesday