Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Holiday Schedule

Holidays to be Observed in 2014

Holiday Date Day of the Week
New Year's Day Jan. 1 Wednesday
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Jan. 20 Monday
National Foundation Day Feb. 11 Tuesday
Washington’s Birthday Feb. 17 Monday
Vernal Equinox Day March 21 Friday
Golden Week Holidays April 29, May 5-6 Tuesday-Monday- Tuesday
Memorial Day May 26 Monday
Independence Day July 4 Friday
Marine Day July 21 Monday
Labor Day Sept. 1 Monday
Respect for the Aged Day Sept. 15 Monday
Autumn Equinox Day Sept. 23 Tuesday
Columbus Day/Sports Day Oct. 13 Monday
Veterans Day Nov. 11 Tuesday
Labor Thanksgiving Day Nov. 23 Sunday (Observed on Monday, Nov. 24
Thanksgiving Day Nov. 27 Thursday
Emperor’s Birthday Dec. 23 Tuesday
Christmas Day Dec. 25 Thursday

In accordance with the Foreign Affairs Manual (2 FAM 115.2 d), the number of local holidays should be limited to 10. As a result, the following Japanese holidays will not be celebrated by Mission employees in 2014.

Holiday Date Day of the Week
Adult's Day Jan. 13 Monday
Culture Day Nov. 3 Monday